Home > Poems > Ode to Death

Ode to Death

When the grass stops growing under my feet,
And starts growing above my head,
Love me still, though I will be dead;
Remember me evermore, keep me in your heart,
Let not cruel death do us apart.

Every end is a beginning,
Every beginning is an end;
Death is just a betokening bend
Beyond which there is no struggle or strife;
Death-the dawn of salvation, the denouement of life.

Why do you shed tears for the inevitable departure?
I’m glad to go, I’m glad to die-
I’ll be dwelling among the stars in the sky
In a baby’s laugh, in the tinkle of church bells,
I’ll be an angel of God-as the legend tells.

Death is the aura of life, the prelude to redemption
A momentary sorrow – then eons of rapture.
This elixir of ecstasy together we’ll capture,
For I’ll wait for you to take your last breath,
Then we’ll be united again by the power of death!

Categories: Poems
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment