Home > Poems > For the love of my life- all I ever need is you

For the love of my life- all I ever need is you

All over the world I flew, searching for love, deep and true,
Not knowing, that all I needed was you.
I got burnt, I got bruised, even got friends for life, when we were through.
And still, tormented, I searched high and low, not knowing, that all I needed was you.

A faceless lover, a soundless voice, a disembodied caress, a memory faint.
I struggled to decipher life’s cryptic clues, I struggled against destiny’s restraint.
Each step I took, brought me closer to you, yet, I pushed you away, I resisted you.
Not knowing, that all I needed was you.

What makes you special? I know naught. All these years, you were just a guy.
Today, you are the air I breathe; deprived of you, I will surely die.
We have slipped into each other’s lives, such a beautiful, perfect fit!
As though we were always together, never apart, never adrift!

I wanna grow old holding you at night, kiss your face with the first sunlight.
I do not promise you all the joys of life, I know I will never be a perfect wife.
But I will stand by you for the rest of our days. You are the answer to all my prayers.
Every bit of love I have, is for you. Because now I know, all I ever need is you.

Categories: Poems Tags:
  1. September 20, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Hi Arpita,

    Beautiful poetry! the flow of sentiments and dedication in your words is intense and faithful!
    Keep Writing 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

