Home > Poems > A Lover’s Threnody

A Lover’s Threnody

Its over, we told ourselves and each other.
We drifted apart, seeking a new start,
Fighting a love that was hard to smother,
Ignoring the pleas of a wounded heart.

We gave up the chance to be together again,
The longing of severed souls we thrust aside.
Choosing instead to live with the pain
As our love was drowned by foolish pride.

I realise after all these years
That you took away a part of me.
Regrets and memories evoke bitter tears
And I wonder, if this truth, you too can see.

Its over, we said then, I say it still;
I just wish my heart would accept it at last.
Yet, there’s a void in my life only you can fill,
No matter what I do, I can’t bury the past.

But now I’m certain, now I’m sure.
And there’s something I want you to know-
All I want is to feel your love once more.
If you come back to me, I’ll never let you go.

Categories: Poems
  1. January 21, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Nice

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

