Home > Poems > LONELINESS KNOWS ME BY NAME

LONELINESS KNOWS ME BY NAME

The only soul mate I’ve ever had-
My knight in shining armour,
Whose jealousy does sequester
Me from the rest of the world.
All human connections broken
For my disembodied lover.

My companion since I can recall,
Till the journey to my grave.
Yes, I, too, for human love do crave,
But the walls cannot be scaled,
The bonds cannot be broken;
And I remain my best friend’s slave.

I venture out; I reach out my hand,
I turn back spurned, I walk alone.
I see an image, it lingers, it’s gone.
Joys and sorrows go unshared.
I long for a change and tearfully wait
For the night to melt into an aureate dawn.

I remain fettered in the cage of my solitude.
Day after day it’s the very same,
I remain a gambit in life’s cruel game.
I search desperately for one true friend-
And run into my old companion-
After all, loneliness knows me by name.

Categories: Poems Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

